Checking In

Hey there. It’s me. I’m still alive. No really, I am.

For over a year now, I’ve had this completely self-imposed goal of writing one blog post here per week, and for the most part, I think I’ve done a pretty decent job of accomplishing that [ever-recurring] goal….if you don’t count the past couple of months.

Well, folks, that’s because I’ve spent much of the past two months feeling like the Career-Related Universe was doing this to me:

Your head will now EXPLODE shirt by Ced, on Flickr

Your head will now EXPLODE shirt by Ced, on Flickr (Used in accordance with the stated Creative Commons licensing terms)

Yep. My brain has been on overload from the sheer volume of stuff running through it the past few months — wrapping up all kinds of stuff from my old job before I left, and then soaking up all the new info coming at me from all directions at my new job — and it hasn’t left a whole lot of Creative Juice leftover to put here, for the moment.

Oh, don’t worry, you won’t get rid of me that easily. I have a few ideas coming down the pike, not least of which is an ooey, gooey, nostalgic episode about my return to alma mater Wright State as a permanent, full-time staff person. That one is still stewing, but when it finally rolls out, it will come complete with quotations from early chapters in the Book of Lisa (my journal). You’re on the edge of your seat waiting for that one, I just know it.

But until then, you’ll just have to content yourself with the knowledge that I have not abandoned this place. I’m just…trying to maintain equilibrium in my overloaded brain at the moment, trying to get back to that “got a grip” feeling, rather than that “just keep treading water” feeling.

When I feel back on top of things again, you’ll know it. I’ll be writing like gangbusters again, just like old times. Stay tuned.

Sincerely,
Lisa Rickey, Archivist

LisaRickey_Archivist

Leave a Reply

